Cocoa Marketing Company (GH) Limited, Board of Directors Inaugurated


Hon. Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto, Minister for Food and Agriculture on behalf of the president, President Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo Inaugurated a seven member Board of the Cocoa Marketing Company (GH) Limited at the Ministry of Food and Agriculture, Head Office on 5th September, 2017.


The members are:


Mr. Joseph kobina Essibu -Chairman

Hon. Anthony Osei Boakye

Dr. Emmanuel Osei Tuffuor

Mr. Charles Nornoo

Dr. Johnson P. Assiama

Mr. David Nii Klotey Collines

Dr. K. Mensah-Aborampah


Hon. Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto, charged the Board to promote, sell and deliver Ghana’s cocoa to both local cocoaprocessors and the International market.


Dr. Akoto in his inaugural remarks opined that although Ghana is acclaimed as the best cocoa producers in the world market, the financial returns to the economy in recent times has been unimpressive as a result of the falling international prices, adding that the new board must among other things, be challenged to achieve a significant growth in the cocoa sub-sector ‘These are difficult tasks which need to be performed to sustain us at our current lower middle-income status and also move us into a fully-fledged middle-income economy” he added.


Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto noted that the cocoa industry is a field where much is needed to sustain the economy and therefore called upon the media to be heavily involved in broadcasting the good news of the sector.


According to the Hon. Minister, the Chairman and other members on the Board had been carefully chosen, because they have the considerable experience and qualities to help resuscitate the industry.


The Ghanaian people are looking at you. They want to see a new leaf turned in the manner in which our cocoa industry has been managed,” he said.


The Board is chaired by Mr. Joseph Kobina Essibu. Speaking on behalf of the Board, Mr. Joseph said, the team would work hard to revive the cocoa industry and achieve the government’s production target.


By: Bagbara Tanko (PRO MoFA)